## Minutes SLA Holiday Party and Annual Business Meeting December 3, 2011 Weber's Inn

Ann Arbor, Michigan

The meeting began at 11:30 am. Bryce Rudder moved that the meeting begin and Barry Puckett seconded the motion.

SLA Michigan president, Karly Szczepkowski, thanked cSubs for sponsoring the event.

Karly summarized some of the chapter's highlights for the year, including

- The chapter's efforts to offer remote programming to its members and other interested parties who can't attend chapter events in person
- Revision and modernization of the chapter's recommended practices
- Creation of the chapter's LinkedIn group
- Planning for the chapter's new web site

Karly thanked the chapter's 2011 board members, volunteers, and Programming Committee. The 2011 Board included Breezy Silver, President-elect and Programming Chair; Randy Dykhuis, Treasurer; Jessica Enget, Secretary; Jennifer Zimmer, Director; and Nathan Rupp, Past President.

Volunteers for 2011 included Vicky Bellon, Hospitality; Alicia Biggers, Vendor Relations; Carla Brooks, Membership; Judy Matthews, Employment; Barry Puckett, Career Guidance – Wayne State; Bryce Rudder, Bulletin Editor; Joel Seewald, Webmaster; Beth Spencer, Public Relations; Paula Storm, Career Guidance – Michigan; and Nancy Yee, Archivist.

The 2011 Programming Committee included Breezy Silver, chair; Joe Anteau; Kristin Darnell; Sarah Galloway; Emily Johnson; Angela Jones; Maureen Simari; and Denise Strong. Celia Ross provided special assistance with the silent auction and holiday party.

The chapter's immediate past president, Nathan Rupp, presented Karly with a certificate recognizing her service to the chapter in 2011.

Karly recognized the 2011 winner of the chapter's student tuition award, Jessica Kahan of the University of Michigan.

Karly introduced the chapter's board nominees and volunteers for 2012. The nominees for the chapter's board for 2012 included Breezy Silver, President; Joe Anteau, President-Elect; Randy Dykhuis, Treasurer; Angela Jones, Secretary; and Jennifer Zimmer, Director.

Volunteers for 2012 will include: Rebeca Befus, Archivist; Vicky Bellon, Hospitality; Alicia Biggers, Vendor Relations; Carla Brooks, Membership; Judy Matthews, Employment; Jane Potee, Diversity; John Potter, Public Relations; Barry Puckett, Career Guidance – Wayne State; Bryce Rudder, Bulletin Editor; Sara Samuel, Career Guidance – University of Michigan; and Joel Seewald, Webmaster.

A voice vote was taken to approve the board for 2012. It passed unanimously.

The symbolic SLA Michigan gavel was officially transferred from Karly Szczepkowski to Breezy Silver.

There was no new business.

Nancy Yee moved to close the meeting, and Bryce Rudder seconded the motion. The meeting ended at 11:45 am.