

Michigan Chapter SLA Board Meeting SLA Holiday Party and Annual Business Meeting December 1, 2012

President Breezy Silver called the meeting to order at 11:41 am.

Breezy indicated the following highlights that occurred in 2012:

- Implementation of updates to chapter website including Google Analytics and web page on chapter history.
- Addition of travel stipend to send president to Leadership Summit which allowed for more involvement in SLA leadership and innovative ideas for the chapter.
- Increase focus on membership: including 5 questions member spotlight feature, updating the welcome letter, contacting members who were not on the listserv to advice them of its existence and provide assistance if they any questions, comments, etc. and providing professional headshots for members.
- Members met for dinner during the Annual Conference held in Chicago.
- Board members have identification pins for events.

Breezy thanked the Chapter 2012 board members, volunteers and the Programming Committee.

The 2012 Board included Joe Anteau, President-Elect and Programming Chair, Randy Dykhuis, Treasurer; Angela Jones, Secretary; Jennifer Zimmer, Director; and Karly Szczepkowski, Past President.

Volunteers for 2012 included Vicky Bellon, Hospitality; Alicia Biggers, Vendor Relations; Carla Brooks, Membership; Judy Matthews, Employment; Barry Puckett and James Van Loon, Career Guidance – Wayne State; Bryce Rudder, Newsletter Editor; Joel Seewald, Webmaster; Sara Samuel, Career Guidance – Michigan; Rebeca Befus, Archivist, and Jane Potee- Diversity Chair.

The 2012 Programming Committee included Joe Anteau, chair; Celia Ross, Jennifer Dye, Judy Solomon, Judy Smith, and Rose Wilson.

The chapters immediate past president, Karly Szczepkowski, presented Breezy with a certificate recognizing her service to the chapter in 2012.

Breezy introduced the chapter's board nominees and volunteers for 2013. The nominees for chapter's board 2013 include Joe Anteau, President; Jennifer Zimmer, President-Elect; Chris Bloodworth, Treasurer; Angela Jones, Secretary; and Randy Dykhuis, Director.

Volunteers for 2012 will include: Anne Wright, Archivist; Laurie Allen, Hospitality; Alicia Biggers, Vendor Relations; Leanna Simon, Membership; Judy Matthews, Employment; Jane Potee, Diversity; Christine Flott, Public Relations; James Van Loon, Career Guidance – Wayne State; Bryce Rudder, Newsletter Editor; Sara Samuel, Career Guidance – University of Michigan; and Joel Seewald, Webmaster

A voice vote was taken to approve the board for 2012. It passed unanimously.

The symbolic SLA Michigan gavel was officially transferred from Breezy Silver to Joe Anteau.

There was no new business.

Bryce Rudder moved to the close the meeting and Jennifer Zimmer seconded the motion. The meeting was closed at 11:48 am.

Submitted, Angela Jones, Secretary December 5, 2012