

Michigan Chapter SLA Chapter Meeting Schoolcraft College December 6, 2009

President Nathan Rupp called the meeting to order at 6:32 p.m.

1. Announcements from President Nathan Rupp:

- Events highlight Because of merger of Michigan chapters, we've been trying to have events all over southern Michigan. This year, we had an event in Lansing and at Grand Valley State. We also had events that included teleconferencing
- Student Travel Award Awarded to Chad Groenhout.
- **Judy Field Retired from Wayne State** Judy was active both in the Michigan Chapter and the national organization.
- **Student Tuition Awards** Student tuition awards were given to: Andrea Alexander (University of Michigan) and Jana Thompkins (Wayne State).

2. Recognitions

- Volunteers –Nathan thanked those in volunteer positions for their efforts over the past year: Alicia Biggers (Vendor Relations), Senovia Guevara (Diversity Chair), Colleen Lyon (Membership), Pamela Repp (Public Relations), Bryce Rudder (Bulletin Editor), Ashley Smith (Webmaster), Paula Storm (Career Guidance University of Michigan), Karly Szczepkowski (Career Guidance Wayne State), Nancy Yee (Archivist).
- Board Members Nathan recognized the board members for their service over the year: Randy Dykhuis (Treasurer), Sophia Guevara (Past President), Arjun Sabharwal (Director), Joel Seewald (Secretary), Karly Szczepkowski (President Elect).
- Programming Karly thanked those who helped with programming over the last year. Programming Committee members were Alicia Biggers, Anne Johns, Barry Puckett, Breezy Silver, Maureen Simari, Stacey Reynolds. Also, Joe Anteau was recognized for coordinating the holiday auction.
- On behalf of the chapter, Past President Sophia Guevara presented Nathan Rupp with a Certificate of Appreciation for his service as Chapter President.

3. New Chapter Leadership

 New Volunteers – Volunteer positions for 2011 will be filled by: Alicia Biggers (Vendor Relations), Vicky Bellon (Hospitality), Carla Brooks (Membership), Judy Matthews (Employment Chair), Barry Puckett (Career

- Guidance Wayne State), Bryce Rudder (Bulletin Editor), Beth Spencer (Public Relations), Paula Storm (Career Guidance University of Michigan), Nancy Yee (Archivist). Ashley won't continue as webmaster, so we need a new one!
- Election of board members Nathan presented the slate of candidates for board positions: Karly Szczepowski (President), Breezy Silver (President-Elect), Jessica Enget (Secretary), Randy Dykhuis (Treasurer), and Jennifer Zimmer (Director). Bryce made a motion to accept the slate and the motion was seconded by Barry.
- Passing the Gavel President Nathan Rupp presented the gavel to new President Karly Szczepkowski.
- 4. **Adjournment** A motion to close the meeting was made by Joel Scheuher and seconded by Barry Puckett. The business meeting was adjourned by President Karly Szczepowski at 6:41 p.m.

Joel Seewald, Secretary December 9, 2010