The Academic Community has given multiple awards annually to mark the accomplishments of its members or academic libraries.  For a description of the award, along with the criteria, eligibility, and submission procedures click on the links below.

The Innovation in Academic Libraries Award has not been awarded recently.
The Stacey Greenwell Outstanding Community Member Award has not been awarded recently.
However, the Practical Academic Librarianship (PAL) Award has been awarded.

Congratulations to the winner of the Practical Academic Librarianship's outstanding article for 2022. 
The winner of the 2023 PAL Award is the article “Others-Oriented Reference: Employing Cultural Humility in the Reference Interview,” by Grace Andrews, Bethany Radcliffe, and Garrett Trott. 

Additionally, the Academic & Education Community has on occasion co-sponsored with SLA Europe an SLA Early Career Conference Award (ECCA).  Here is the list of past winners:

  • not awarded (2023)
    Meghanne Flynn (2022)
  • Bethany Sherwood (2018)
  • Amy O'Donohoe (2017)
  • Helen Monagle (2016)
  • Michelle Bond (2014)

    Despite the successful merger of the Academic Community and the Education Community, each with their own "named" and "sponsored" awards, there is no intent or plan to "merge" and/or discontinue any of the awards at this time.

In 1991 the Education Division established the Anne Galler Award for Professional Excellence.  Criteria, eligibility, and submission procedures are outlined in the column to the right.

The Past Winners of this Award are. . . 

2015  Lesley Farmer
2011  Jacqueline Snyder
2007  Patricia Libutti
2006  Carole Sund
2005  Karen McQuillen
2004  John d'Amicantonio
2001  Janet Williamson
1999  Kamla Motihar
1998  Gladys Dratch
1997  Suzanne Brown
1996  JoAnn Segal
1995  Anne M. Galler
1994  Charles Missar
1993  Hope Human
1992  Malcolm Hamilton
1991  Guest Perry

The Anne M. Galler Award for Professional Excellence.  

The President presents the award at the annual business meeting of the Division. The recipient may or may not be notified beforehand, but the Awards Committee ensures that the honoree plans to attend the Conference. The President is responsible delivering the speech for the presentation.

The Awards Committee should also make recommendations for the annual awards given by SLA and for which input from the Communities is solicited.

Nomination Form for the Education Community's Award for Professional Excellence

(Information will be held in strict confidence.)
Purpose: To recognize and individual Education Community member who has demonstrated professional excellence in the field of education librarianship, library education or has provided outstanding service to the  Education Community.


  • Education Community member in good standing for at least 5 years with contributions made over an extended period of time.
  • Education Community member who has demonstrated achievements in one or more of the following areas:
    • Participation in programs, seminars, or similar activities which benefit the Education Community or promote public recognition of the profession.
    • Special and notable service to the Community, such as continued participation in special projects, committee work or leadership roles.
    • Significant publication or editorial contributions to the professional literature.
    • Notable innovations whether on the job, teaching courses, public speaking activities or mentoring others in the profession.
    • Other achievements indicating noteworthy dedication to the profession of special librarianship or education librarianship or library education.

Submission procedure:

  • Complete the nomination information (below) and write a narrative that provides reasons for the nomination, following the above criteria.
  • Please attach a current curriculum vita and send the nomination materials to the President of the Academic and Education Community by email.

Nominee: ___________________________Title: ___________
Current Address: ____________________________________
Phone/email: _______________________________________

Nominated by:
Name and Title: _____________________________________
Current Address: ____________________________________
Phone/email: _______________________________________
Date: __________________________

Deadline for submission: Must be received by October 1 (year)