Community Discussions

There are no discussions to which you have access

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.


Travel stipend to attend the 2018 SLA Annual Conference, Baltimore, MD, June, 9-13, 2018

Application Deadline: March 14, 2018

The Chemistry Division of the Special Libraries Association (SLA) is sponsoring a student/new member travel award to defray the costs of attending the 2018 SLA Annual Conference June 9-13, 2018, Baltimore, MD. The award is intended to encourage the professional development of student members and new members of the Chemistry Division and encourage their participation in Chemistry Division activities.



$1,500 stipend to attend the 2018 SLA Annual Conference. The winner also receives an award certificate at the Annual Conference during the Science and Technology Award Reception.


All student members of the Chemistry Division and all new members of the Chemistry Division (individuals who have joined since January 2018) are eligible. All applicants must have joined the Chemistry Division by March 14, 2018. See below for information on joining SLA and the Chemistry Division.

Individuals who accept a travel award or stipend for the annual conference from any other SLA entity are not eligible for this award. Travel funds provided by your employer, your school (for students), or any other non-SLA affiliated group do not affect your eligibility.


Please submit the following:

  • A brief essay that articulates your objectives for professional development; and indicate what you hope to gain from attending the SLA Annual Conference. Maximum length: 2 pages.
  • Resume
  • Names of two references
  • Brief budget (expected expenses for registration, airfare, lodging, food and/or continuing education course).

All applications must be received by midnight on March 14, 2018. The winner will be notified by March 23, 2018. Essays will be judged and the winner selected by a panel of SLA Chemistry Division members.

SUBMIT APPLICATION VIA EMAIL TO: Lutishoor Salisbury (lsalisbu@uark.edu),

University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.


Want to join the Chemistry Division of SLA?

Not a member of SLA? Use this link to join SLA:  http://www.sla1.org/access-membership/join-sla/

When you join SLA, you can also join one division for free, additional divisions are $20/year.

Already an SLA member? To join the Chemistry Division either: 1) Login using your membership Username and Password and download the SLA Change/Add Units form: http://www.sla1.org/access-membership/  Fax or mail the form to SLA. Or 2) Call 1-703-647-4900 and pay with a credit card.

The award is named to honor Marion E. Sparks, a chemistry librarian at the University of Illinois from 1913 until her death in 1929. Ms. Sparks contributed a great deal to the field of chemical information, her achievements include teaching courses on chemical information, and authoring and publishing what is argued to be the first book to formally address chemical literature and library instruction.

Previous winners include:
Allison A. Langham (2016)
Kortney K. Rupp (2017)
Robin Ford (2018)
Kay Bjornen (2019)
Stacey Mantooth, Florida State University (2015)
Tina Qin, Michigan State University (2014)
Shu Guo, Central Michigan University (2013)
Kristin Briney, UWisconsin-Madison (2012)
Courtney Hoffner, UCLA (2011)
Ye Li, University of Michigan (2010)
Li Zhang, Mississippi State University (2009)
Margaret Smith, New York University (2008)
Michael Peper, University of North Carolina (2007)
Yan He, Indiana University Bloomington (2006)
Hilary Davis, North Carolina State University (2005)
Meris Mandernach, Loyola University Chicago (2004)
Stewart Curry, University of South Carolina (2003)
Cory Craig, University of California Davis (2002)