Business and Finance

Reminder: Panel Discussion on Economic Data and Entrepreneurship

  • 1.  Reminder: Panel Discussion on Economic Data and Entrepreneurship

    Posted 20 days ago
    Note: This post is a duplicate of Samuel Russel's earlier post to the Open Forum about the event.

    Panel Discussion on Economic Data and Entrepreneurship

    Date And Time

    Sat, September 12, 2020

    Time: 9AM (MDT), 11AM (EDT), 4PM (BST), 5PM (CEST) & 8:30PM (IST)

    Location

    Online Event

    RSVP: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/panel-discussion-on-economic-data-and-entrepreneurship-tickets-109236609640

    A great webinar on economic data with members from across the Special Libraries Association.

    About this Event

    Join members of the Special Libraries Association for an engaging session where we will learn about economic data and entrepreneurship from the perspective of information professionals from around the globe. This event is being organized by the Washington, DC and EDEE Communities.

    Questions our panelists will address in this webinar may include:

    1. How do the panelists support entrepreneurship and what challenges do the panelists experience serving these clients?
    2. What are some reference resources infopros use to identify client needs in the field of economic development? Which statistical resources do you use to support entrepreneurs?
    3. How do we understand, and communicate, gaps in data?
    4. How do infopros, especially those who work in a solo environment, handle the breadth and volume of responsibilities supporting a wide variety of client types?
    5. How do infopros handle our own knowledge limitations and recognize when we should turn to other subject matter experts to ask for help, such as members of SLA?
    6. Have any of your services changed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and if so, please provide an example?

    We welcome you to come with questions for our panelists, and the SLA community, as there will be a period of Questions and Answers for our panelists.

    Our expert panelists for this panel include:

    • Moderator: @Karen MacDonald, MBA, MLIS is the Business & Entrepreneurship Outreach Librarian, and Associate Professor, at Kent State University. Karen is a former Chair of SLA's Business & Finance Division.
    • @Nicole Mullings is the Manager for Business Intelligence & Research at Calgary Economic Development. She is also the convener of SLA Economic Development, Empowerment and Entrepreneurship (EDEE) Caucus.
    • @Sada Bihari Sahu is the Assistant General Manager of the library for the Small Industries Development Bank of India (SIDBI).
    • @Lynn Weinstein is a Business Reference and Research Specialist at the Library of Congress.
    • @Maria Violeta Bertolini is a Knowledge Management Officer for FMO - Dutch Entrepreneurial Development Bank.
    • @Seema Rampersad is the Senior Business Research & Service Manager at the Business & IP Centre at The British Library.

    Special Libraries Association

    Interested in SLA membership? Click here for information.



    ------------------------------
    J Nicole Mullings MLIS
    Manager, Business Intelligence & Research | Research and Strategy
    Calgary Economic Development
    jnmullings@gmail.com
    EDEE Caucus Convenor
    ------------------------------