Southern California

"Are Chatbots Coming to Your Library" Event - Friday, April 30th @ 10:30am PST

  • 1.  "Are Chatbots Coming to Your Library" Event - Friday, April 30th @ 10:30am PST

    Posted 15 days ago

    "Are Chatbots Coming to Your Library"

    Friday, April 30th, 10:30am - 12pm PST

    Our friends in the Sierra Nevada Community have graciously invited us to attend this free event being hosted on Zoom!
    Registration closes on Wednesday, April 28th, 2021 so hurry quick!

    Event Information

    Location- Virtual: Zoom Registration Link-
     If unable to attend this date/time, a recording may be available for later viewing.
    Register in advance for this presentation by COB on Wednesday, April 28, 2021
    After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

     

    Presenter: Danielle Kane, Computational Research Librarian, University of California, Irvine 

     

    Presentation Description 

     

    On Friday, April 30, 2021-starting at 10:30 AM PT | 11:30 AM MT | 12:30 PM CT 1:30 PM ET-- - please join the Sierra Nevada Community of SLA by attending this engaging presentation and discussion, "Are Chatbots Coming to Your Library?" presented by Ms. Danielle Kane, Computational Research Librarian for the University California, Irvine.  

     

    In 2014 UCI Libraries piloted ANTswers which is an experimental chatbot that answers simple, short questions for patrons about library resources and services. 
    Ms. Kane's presentation will provide an overview of this project, she will cover what it takes to create and maintain a chatbot, how to evaluate its success, and why you may consider creating a chatbot for your library.  

     

    There will be a Q&A session after the presentation. 

     

    Presenter Bio- Danielle Kane is the Computational Research Librarian at the University of California, Irvine.  In addition to computational research, she also handles GIS and is the UCI Libraries Carpentries workshop coordinator.  For 9 years she was the Emerging Technologies librarian where she implemented and evaluated many technology tools and services to support the needs of the academic community at UCI.  Ms. Kane continues as the botmaster for ANTswers, an AIML chatbot that went live in 2014. 



    ------------------------------
    JonLuc Christensen, MLIS, DAM
    President-Elect: SLA Southern California Chapter
    NASA/Caltech Jet Propulsion Laboratory
    JonLucChristensen@gmail.com
    714-948-0462
    ------------------------------