Awards and Honors

The SLA Engineering Community gives the following awards:

  1. SLA Engineering Librarian of the Year Award
  2. SLA Engineering Continuing Education Travel Award
  3. SLA Engineering Library Student Award
  4. Science-Technology/Engineering Communities Bonnie Hilditch International Librarian Award (In Conjunction with the SciTech Community)

The Community's Awards Committee, in consultation with the Community President as needed, oversees all awards. For a list of past award winners, please click here.

The George Mandel Memorial Award has been established by the Aerospace Section of the Engineering Community. It is sponsored partially by the Mandel family and by the American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics to provide financial support to qualified Aerospace Section members who will attend and/or participate in an SLA annual conference or educational program. The Section oversees this award in consultation with the Community President as needed.

Awards Committee

Awards Committee Chair  

Jay Bhatt
W. W. Hagerty Library
Drexel University
(215) 895-1873

Bette Finn
Georgia Tech Library and Information Center
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta Georgia, 30332-0900
(404) 894-1790

Sara Tompson
Information Professional (retired), Researcher, Instrument-Rated Private Pilot