George Mandel Memorial Aerospace Award

George Mandel Memorial Aerospace Award

The George Mandel Memorial Award was established in 1989 by the Aerospace Section of the Engineering Division in memory of George Mandel, who passed away on July 16, 1989. In 2020, the Aerospace Section was absorbed in to the Engineering Community, but the award continues to focus on achievements in aerospace topics.

George Mandel was a member of the aerospace industry library community for 30 years. At the time of his death in 1989, he was the Chief of the Technical Information Services Division at the NASA Lewis Research Center. He served as Chair of the Aerospace Division in 1977-78 and also as a project chair. Mandel was the driving force behind the compilation and publishing of the NASA N Numbers to DOD AD Numbers. This award was established to preserve the goals of the Aerospace Section and to keep alive George’s belief that participating in professional organizations is important for an individual’s growth and development.

Since 2003 the George Mandel Memorial Award has been co-sponsored by George Mandel’s son, Dr. David Mandel. The award is in the form of an unrestricted $1000 check. Most often, awardees have used the funding to defray the cost of SLA conference or other event participation, but this is not required.


A nominee must be a current member in good standing of the Engineering Community for at least one year.

Current members of the SLA Engineering Awards Committee are ineligible to nominate candidates or be nominated. In addition, past recipients of the award are generally ineligible for nomination, except in the event of momentous contributions.

The nomination of an individual, or an applicant’s self-nomination, should be based on at least one of the following criteria:

  • Presented or will present (tour, panel, paper, etc.) at the annual conference.
  • Served or will serve on the annual conference program planning committee.
  • Led or will lead a continuing education segment at a conference.
  • Become or be elected an officer of the Engineering Community, or a member of any of the boards or committees of the SLA.
  • Have participated actively in or contributed significantly to Engineering Community activities, particularly related to aerospace topics.
  • Made significant contributions to the aerospace information profession through place of employment or publications.
  • Received an award for outstanding service from his/her employer in the aerospace industry.


Each nomination must include a brief justification (no more than 1000 words) of why the nominee is considered meritorious. The nomination package must also include the nominee’s current Curriculum Vitae or resume.

Please email nominations to Stephanie Sheldon, SLA Engineering Awards Committee, at: by TBD.

Questions about the award may also be addressed to Stephanie.

The winner is encouraged to attend the Engineering Community Awards Event at the 2023 SLA Annual Conference.


Applicants will receive notification on award status by TBD. The award payments will be coordinated by SLA headquarters staff. The award recipient’s name will be posted to the Engineering Community's website. An announcement and introduction of the award recipient will be posted to the Engineering Community website and to SLA Connect.

 Past Winners:

2022:  Dr. Wei Zakharov

2021: Stephanie Sheldon

2020: Zachary Painter

2019: Gabriele Hysong

2018: Niamh Tumelty

2017: Betty Edwards

2016: Sara Tompson

2015: Not awarded

2014: Kathryn Breininger

2013: Not awarded

2012: Mary S. Whittaker

2011: Gale Harris

2010: Diane Brenes

2009: Joan Dubis

2008: Kathy Nordhaus

2007: Mary Crompton

2006: Janna Jantz

2005: Eileen Dorschner

2004: Margaret (Peggy) Carr

2003: Corrine Campbell

2002: Susan Winstanley

(For earlier winners, see: