Illinois: Open Community

 View Only

Today, 11/9! SLA IL Webinar:Using Collective Intelligence Workshops to Create Structured Taxonomies

  • 1.  Today, 11/9! SLA IL Webinar:Using Collective Intelligence Workshops to Create Structured Taxonomies

    Posted 11-09-2023 10:18

    You're invited to a new SLA Illinois webinar, Using Collective Intelligence Workshops to Create Structured Taxonomies! 

    Organizations extract value from the information they accumulate by organizing their data logically and consistently into categories and subcategories, creating a taxonomy. A structured taxonomy provides value to data-driven organizations by eliminating duplicative strategies and streamlining knowledge management processes. This taxonomic structure of data and metadata becomes a single source of truth. But organizations struggle with the creation of this taxonomic structure due to communication or platform breakdowns often described as "data silos." A collective intelligence workshop is an effective interactive method to break through these silos, engage with diverse stakeholders, create consensus, and begin the construction of an optimized taxonomic structure.

    Tim Mulholland, a Digital Librarian Consultant, will share how his team uses collective intelligence workshops that span cross-functional stakeholders to document, ideate, and conceptualize solutions to transform disparate data points into an optimized schema. 

    This event is open to all SLA members. 

    Thursday, November 9, 2023

    • 2:00-3:00 pm EST
    • 1:00-2:00 pm CST
    • 12:00-1:00 pm MST
    • 11:00 am - 12:00 pm PST

    Learn more and register: https://railslibraries.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJAkf-CqqDwvH9Ehi_S64DjzsDROyz9gzhly



    ------------------------------
    Dan Bostrom
    Director of Marketing & Communications
    Reaching Across Illinois Library System (RAILS)
    dan.bostrom@railslibraries.org
    630.734.5152
    ------------------------------