Mr. James Manasco

Manasco Acres

Contact Details

Manasco Acres


James E. Manasco has been a member of SLA since 1994, where he is a member of the Kentucky Chapter, the Canadian Chapter, the Science-Technology, the Leadership & Management, Academic, Information Technology, and Physics, Astronomy and Mathematics Divisions. He currently serves as President of the Kentucky Community and Convener/Chair of the Fellows of SLA.  James was also selected to be a candidate for Director-at-Large for the SLA Board of Directors in its 2022 election.  Previously, he has served in a variety of leadership roles, including Chair of the Science-Technology and Information Technology Divisions, President of the Kentucky Chapter (twice) and Chair of the 2010 Annual Conference Advisory Council. James is also the co-presenter, with Mary Frances Lembo, of the very popular Sci-Eng 101 series of programs that have been at SLA Annual each year since 2004. James was awarded the Kentucky Chapter’s Professional Award in 2004, its’ Outstanding Member Award in 2007, and its’ Larry Besant Professional Award in 2021. James was named a Fellow of SLA in 2010. James is currently disabled.  He formerly served as School Librarian for Wayland Alexander Elementary from August 2015-May 2018. Prior to that, he served in a variety of positions at the University of Louisville in Louisville, Kentucky from July 2003-July 2015; Head of the Robert E. Shaver Library of Engineering at the University of Kentucky (1999-2003) and Natural Sciences Liaison Librarian at Colorado College’s Tutt Library in Colorado Springs, Colorado (1996-1999). James received his MSLS in 1996 and his BA in 1994, both from the University of Kentucky. James resides in Hartford, Kentucky at Manasco Acres with his wife Melanie and three children, Kayden, Jay and Tatum; one beagle, Peppermint.


Selected SLA Service:

  • Candidate, Director, SLA. June 2022-
  • President, Kentucky Community.  2022
  • Convener/Chair, Fellows of SLA.  2021 and 2022
  • President-Elect, Kentucky Community.  2021
  • Chair, Membership Priorities (AKA Member Preferences) Task Force June-December 2014
    • Appointed by SLA President.  Given the task of reviewing various surveys to formulate a prioritized list of membership needs that the board can address.
  • Chair, SLA Nominating Committee. February 2013-April 2014
  • President, Kentucky Chapter. January-December 2013
  • Chair-Elect, SLA Nominating Committee. July 2012-February 2013
  • Chair, 2013 Program Planning Committee, Leadership and Management Division. January 2012-June 2013
  • Member, Nominating Committee, Kentucky Chapter June-September 2011
  • Chair, SLA Emergency Preparedness & Recovery Advisory Council.      January 2011-December 2012 
  • Member, Nominating Committee, IT Division April-June 2010
  • Candidate, Chapter Cabinet Chair-Elect, SLA. March 2010-October 2010
  • Editor, Sci-Tech News.  January 2009-December 2010
  • Chair, SLA 2010 Annual Conference Advisory Council June 2008-June 2010.
  • Chair, Information Technology Division. January-December 2008
  • Chair, SLA’s Bylaws Committee.  January-December 2008
  • Chair, Committee for Local Arrangements and Planning, Kentucky Chapter.  SLA Leadership Summit in Louisville, KY.  January 2007-January 2008
  • Chair, Nominating Committee, Kentucky Chapter.  January-March 2009; June-October 2008
  • Candidate, Chapter Cabinet Chair-Elect, SLA. March 2005-March 2006
  • Program Planner, Information Technology Division. January 2005-June 2006
  • President, Kentucky Chapter.    July 2003-June 2004
  • Chair, Sci-Tech Division.   July 2003-June 2004
  • Member, SLA’s Public Relations Committee. July 2001-June 2003
  • Director-at-Large, Kentucky Chapter. July 2000-June 2002
  • Chair, Digital Content Section, IT Division.  July 2000-June 2001
  • Chair, Membership Committee, Sci-Tech Division. July 2000-June 2002
  • Chair, Professional Development Committee, PAM Division. July 2000-June 2002
  • Convener, Sci-Tech Division’s Contributed Papers Session, 2001 SLA Annual Conference. July 2000-July 2001
  • Chair, Student Relations Committee, Sci-Tech Division. July 1998-June 1999
  • Chair, Awards Committee, IT Division.   July 1997-June 2000
  • Chair, Government Relations Committee, Sci-Tech Division. July 1995-June 1996