Military Libraries Division - Open Community

Sharon Lenius - 2020 John Cotton Dana award recipient

  • 1.  Sharon Lenius - 2020 John Cotton Dana award recipient

    Posted 04-25-2020 08:48
    Hi all,

    I know you all join me in congratulating our colleague and DMIL advocate Sharon Lenius as a recipient of the 2020 John Cotton Dana award.

    Sharon was one of the first librarians I got to know through SLA and she has always been a strong supporter of the association and active with both DMIL and DC-SLA.

    The John Cotton Dana Award is SLA's top honor, named for SLA's founder and first president. It is granted to an information professional to recognize a lifetime of achievement as well as exceptional service to SLA and the library and information profession. 

    Sharon was inducted into the SLA Hall of Fame in 2012.

    As part of the nomination, Sharon was described as:

    "...the backbone of the Military Libraries Division and the exemplar of the finest tradition of special librarianship.  Devoted to her colleagues, to the several chapters (Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia) and divisions (Business & Finance, Competitive Intelligence, Government Information, Leadership and Management, Solo Librarians, and Military Libraries) to which she belongs, she works tirelessly on behalf of all special library personnel.

    Whether it is a matter of identifying potential new members and leaders to work with her on any number of pending projects, serving as the talent scout for speakers at workshops and conferences, or identifying and disseminating articles and resources of interest to her colleagues, she is tireless, and fearless too! As DMIL's Resources Committee Chair for as long as I have known her, she has made it possible for the military library community to hold a targeted, robust and extremely well received annual, and in more recent years, biannual training workshop focused specifically on our unique requirements, capabilities, and resource needs."

    Congratulations to Sharon for this well-deserved recognition!

    David McBee
    DMIL Chair - 2020


  • 2.  RE: Sharon Lenius - 2020 John Cotton Dana award recipient

    Posted 04-28-2020 12:54
    Congratulations, Sharon!

    Gloria Miller
    US Army Materiel Command