Dana Gordon Award

The Dana Gordon Special Librarian of the Year Award was created by the SLA NY Executive Board in 2012 to honor the memory of Dana Gordon (1961-2012). The award recognizes an SLA-NY member who has demonstrated enterprising spirit through the development or creation of initiatives that have consistently broken new ground in programming, web design, research, or client/customer service and have significantly benefited library clients, library operations or the library profession-at-large.

Dana was a long-standing SLA-NY and SLA News Division member. A consummate professional, she was well known for her expertise, creative talent, and enterprising spirit. Dana’s professionalism was rivaled only by her tremendous enthusiasm for the profession and her generosity in sharing her great store of knowledge with colleagues, staff and students. Dana spent 13 years at Newsweek and rose to the position of Deputy Director of its Library Research Systems. Subsequently she was the Research Editor for Crain’s, and also worked as a consultant for BST America.

We mourn the passing of Dana and honor her dedication to enthusiastically bringing her brand of innovation and forward thinking to the profession. This award truly celebrates Dana’s sense of innovation by allowing for a broad range of nominees each year.

SLA-NY is proud to partner with BST America, sponsor of the Dana Gordon Special Librarian of the Year Award for 2016 and 2017.

Award Criteria:

  • Do you know a librarian who deserves special recognition this year? Who lights the way for patrons and colleagues? Tell us about a librarian you know who’s shown exceptional leadership, creativity, and innovation this year.
  • Or…talk to us about a library that’s doing interesting, groundbreaking work in their profession or community.
  • Who is Eligible? Any professional librarian or knowledge manager in any type of library anywhere in New York City or Long Island is eligible. “Professional” means a person with an advanced degree in Library or Information Science, or someone holding a position designated “professional” in a library or library service. Current employment is not a requirement – the person can be recently retired, between positions, or involved in volunteer, mentor, or advisory roles.
  • Examples of winning achievements can include but are not limited to:
  • Exceptional leadership or mentorship to other information professionals
  • Creation of innovative services
  • Building, rebuilding, and/or strengthening a library’s role in a community or organization
  • Inspired promotion of the library’s resources and services
  • Or any other relevant, unique contributions

Previous Recipients of the Dana Gordon Award:

  • Kara Masciangelo, 2016
  • Marcy Winkler, 2015
  • Rachel Finn, Chris Lillis Meatto, and Helen Sobolik, 2014
  • Donna Severino, 2013
  • Pam Rollo, 2012