About Us and FAQ

General Information

The objectives of the Science-Technology Division shall be to draw together members having an interest in the role of library and information science as applied to the recording, retrieval, and dissemination of information in all areas of science and technology and to promote and improve the communication, dissemination, and use of such information to the benefit of libraries and their users.

Early History of the SciTech Division

Modern History of the SciTech Division

For more information, read on for the FAQ.


What is the mission of the Science-Technology Division of SLA?

To provide information, training, and tools to science and technology information professionals to develop the skills and knowledge they need to grow and excel. The Division functions as an international community that supports the professional development of its members through communication, networking, education, and research.

When did the Division form?

The Science-Technology Division of SLA was formed in 1923 under the name of the Technology Group. The first meeting was held during the 1924 annual conference. The Group was recognized officially in March 1925. Renamed Science-Technology Division in 1950.

What are the positions in the Executive Board and what is the function of the Board?

The Executive Board manages the Division’s property and regulates and governs its affairs.

Chair — Chief Executive Officer of Division, responsible for supervision and control of Division affairs

Chair-Elect – Succeeds Chair

Secretary — Records minutes and official business

Treasurer — Maintains all financial records and prepares Annual Financial Statement

Past-Chair — Advisory capacity

What committees and other positions does the Division have, and what do they do?

ALA/ACRL Science & Technology Section Liaison — Promotes communication and coordination of topics of mutual concern between the Division and ACRL/STS (Association of College & Research Libraries/Science and Technology Section).

Archivist — Receives, organizes, files and maintains archival copies of records of Division

Auditor — Examines and verifies books of the Treasurer

Awards Committee — Selects winners for travel stipends and Achievement Award

Bylaws Committee — Drafts Bylaws changes as recommended by Executive Board

Conference Planning Committee — Plans programs and arrangements for speakers, facilities, receptions, tours, etc.

Communications Committee — enables and suppors methods of communication among Division members, and for seeking out opportunities for members to network.

Government Relations Committee — Monitors public issues; coordinates government relations activities

International Relations Committee — Promotes discussions of international relations issues

Medical Library Association Liaison — Promotes communication and coordination of topics of mutual concern between the Division and MLA

Membership Committee — Maintains records of membership; encourages retention and recruits new members

Nominating Committee — Presents candidates for Chair-Elect and Secretary or Treasurer

Parliamentarian — Interprets Bylaws to ensure procedures conform

Professional Development Committee — Organizes workshops/seminars for continuing education

Projects and Publications Committee – Reviews and recommends sponsorship and financial support for projects

Public Relations Committee — Raises public awareness about sci-tech information

SLA Cataloguing Committee Liaison — Promotes communication and coordination of topics of
mutual concern between the Division and the committee

SLA Standards Committee Liaison — Promotes communication and coordination of topics of mutual concern between the Division and the committee

Strategic Planning Committee — Updates and revises Strategic Plan to reflect needs and values of Division

Student Relations Committee — Furthers communications between professionals and library science students

Teller — Counts election ballots and certifies election results

Vendor Relations Committee — cultivates relationships with potential vendor sponsors in order to obtain funding to support Division activities, such as conference programming.

What publications does the Division produce?

1) The Division has an open community within SLA Connect. The purpose of the Sci-Tech community is to promote communication among the members of the Science-Technology Division of SLA and other interested parties via an unmoderated community. It should help special librarians everywhere advance their role as information professionals in their respective institutions.
Topics of posts to the list include information about the division and its activities, conference information and opportunities, resource sharing, reference questions, job announcements, reviewer or publishing opportunities, announcements about member publications, course and professional development opportunity announcements, research surveys, and sci-tech library-related news.
If you are a Sci-Tech Division member, you should already have access to the community from within the Connect platform. You can head to http://connect.sla.org, and login to your SLA account to see it.

2) A newsletter, Sci-Tech News, was the official publication of the Division. It debuted as Ye Alchemical Libraries Almanack : being the bulletin of the Science-Technology Group with Lucy O. Lawton as editor in September 1947. It changed its name to SCI-TECH NEWS : the official bulletin of the Science-Technology Group in 1949. The last issue was published in summer of 2017. 

What awards are given by the Division?

The division currently considers nominations for several awards for travel, international librarians, professional development, achievement, and other forms of recognition of contributions to the Division.  Some highlights from the history of the division's awards follow. 

  • The Travel award was given to Madeline C. Carey in 1972 and regularly since. The award was renamed the Kirk S. Cabeen Travel Stipend in 1994.
  • The Achievement award recognizes professional work marked by distinction & dedication to sci-tech librarianship. Ellis Mount received the first Achievement Award in 1984; Jean K. Martin received it in 1987; Robert M. Ballard received it in 1990.  In 2014 this award was renamed the Ann Koopman Sci-Tech Division Achievement Award in honor of Ann Koopman's contributions to the division by serving in leadership roles and mentoring her colleagues. 

    The Impossible Award, given in recognition of work that made the impossible possible, was first awarded to Cathy Williamson in 1990; followed by Wilda Newman in 1991, Ellis Mount in 1992, Sandy Moltz in 1996, and Ann Koopman and Bonnie Osif in 2004.
  • The International Librarian Awards, given to help third world librarians attend conference, were first presented to Christina Santos Labourdette, Elena Reyes Varela, and America Santos (latter could not attend conference) in 1995.
  • The Professional Development Award, given to help unemployed librarians attend conference, was first presented to Cathy Williamson in 1995.
  • Additional awards: Jim Olsen and Carmela Carbone were given Appreciation Awards in 1991. Joanna Tallman was awarded $1000 for her revision of the Handbook of Scientific and Technical Awards in the United States and Canada in 1978. Ellis Mount awarded $300 to support work on the history of the Engineering Societies Library in 1978. Ellis Mount was named Editor Emeritus of the Sci-Tech News in 2004.