Student Merit Awards

UNYSLA Student Merit Award

The purpose of the UNYSLA Student Merit Award is to recognize and reward the active participation of student SLA members through involvement and leadership in Student Group activities.

Nominees must be an SLA student member enrolled in a masters or PhD level library or information studies program and must show evidence of at least one of the following as a student member of SLA:

  • Increasing SLA student involvement and memberships;
  • Expanding professional development opportunities both formal and informal;
  • Raising or expanding the profile of the SLA Student Group within their own school, on campus, or within the professional community;
  • Bringing educators and practicing special librarians together.

Any chapter member may nominate a student for the Merit Award.

Nominations are ranked based on documented quantitative and qualitative evidence and identifying which criteria above apply. Examples of relevant activities include successful organization, planning, and promotion of activities covering:

  • Outreach: membership promotions; web site development; library tours
  • Leadership: mentoring programs, strategic planning, campus or association involvement
  • Programming: library tours, speakers, meetings, workshops, seminars, colloquia
  • Scholarship and Creative Activities: grant support, publications

Past winners of the Student Merit Award:

2018: William Sheppard, Cornell University
2012: Esther Marie Jackson, University at Buffalo
2011: Allison Starkey, University of Albany
2008: Ellie Jones, University at Buffalo
2006: Susan LaValley, University at Buffalo
2005: Megan Comey, Syracuse University
2004: Marcy Strong, University of Albany